Artists Inspiring Artists

 

During my break, I spent time getting to know a couple of new friends of mine. One of them I now call The Artistic One.

I honestly had no idea that she had such artistic pursuits until I visited her place one Sunday ago. Here, she revealed her hidden world; watercolor portraits, black and white photographs of street art, charcoal sketches, and several journals loaded with her own recipes. She had done all of this, and she was brilliant at all of it. I asked the next obvious question from one artist to another.

“Why don’t you still do…well, any of this?”

She shrugged. Yeah, that’s my answer whenever I am in the middle of a break, too.

So we made an agreement: we would meet up at least once a month at her place (she didn’t have a choice in that matter because she lives on the beach). Here, we would encourage each other with at least one artistic pursuit. Last time, we took the culinary route and created a cherry limeade cheesecake. This weekend, I will be writing and she will be drawing. Her boyfriend agreed to act as cheerleader and the bringer of snacks. At the end of the evening, dinner and Netflix would wrap the day.

This is the first time that I have ever done a joint creative weekend, but I think it could be a great way to start the engines up again.

This entry is a little shorter and early because I have outpatient surgery tomorrow, and I honestly don’t want to put anything additional on my to-do list for this weekend. Recovering by the beach and doing some freestyle art with a good friend is my plan. I should be back to my normal fluffy self next week! 🙂

This entry was posted in Happy Thoughts, Learning From Art, The Writing Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

