Writing Books I Like

I was looking over my books, and I was amazed at how many writing books I have acquired over the years. I wanted to share some of my favorite books with you guys. One or two of them may not be books about the writing craft itself, but they are differently aimed at writers. Here are some of my favorites, in no particular order:

Any of the Elements of Fiction Writing series: I looked one day and realized that I have this entire series, and I love it. These were the first writing books I ever got, and I still look back to them at times. My two favorites in the series of nine are Characters & Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card and Beginnings, Middles, and Endings by Nancy Kress. All of them are solid books, though, and great for beginning writers or seasoned writers who want to freshen up on the basics.
Guerrilla Marketing for Writers by Jay Conrad Levinson, Rick Frishman, Michael Larsen, and David L. Hancock: Awesome book for self-publishers who would like some ideas for selling and marketing your work that are either free or low-cost. I have the second edition, published in 2010, and I believe this is the latest edition. Marketing can scare writers, but there are some great, creative ideas in this book.
How To Blog A Book by Nina Amir: I am currently reading this one. While it focuses more on non-fiction, it is a lovely book that explains everything step-by-step, from picking a blog host to increasing readership. Short, sweet, and to the point.
The Writer’s Digest Character Naming Sourcebook by Sherrilyn Kenyon: Nevermind the fun you can have just looking up the names of everyone you know, this is an excellent resource if naming characters can be daunting at times for you. It is divided by nationality, gives common surnames, and even includes a list of the top ten United States baby names from 1880 to 2003.
Manuscript Makeover-Revision Techniques No Fiction Writer Can Afford to Ignore by Elizabeth Lyon: I hate proofreading. There, I said it. I cannot stand having to check spelling and grammar. That being said, this book covers more than just that. It actually addresses possible issues with the story itself. I was able to correct a glaring problem with a main character thanks to this book (she was too passive).
Writer’s Guide to Character Traits by Linda N. Edelstein: I used to have the first edition of this book, and it walked out and disappeared. I now have the second edition. Being in the mental health profession, I loved how this book combined the two. Mental disorders, substance abuser characteristics, and even birth order traits are all covered.
How To Write A Damn Good Thriller by James N. Frey: This book was very helpful while I was writing my first spy thriller. It covers a lot of the basics, but it also does well with folding in the elements of a great thriller. There are some nice examples in the book as well.
Writing The Paranormal Novel by Steven Harper: I first got this book a few years ago when I was working on a vampire-like book. Then vampires became a big trend and I abandoned both my project and the writing book. Fast forward to two weeks ago, when I stumbled upon the book again. I started looking through it, and I realized that I could reference this book for my Fae story as well. Like the previous book, this one covers the writing basics but includes concepts unique to paranormal books.
Bullies, Bastards, and Bitches: How To Write The Bad Guys Of Fiction by Jessica Page Morrell: I am also currently reading this one, because multitasking is awesome at times. This book is strictly about creating a great villain and/or anti-hero. I got this book because I wanted help with creating a female villain for my spy novel. I am looking at it now for my main villain in my Fae story.

I have a bunch of other books, but these are favorites of mine. Do you have any favorite writing books? Tell us in the comments!

This entry was posted in BLAQUE, Fae Sight, Marketing, Publishing, The Writing Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

