Better To Be

“Better to be without logic than without feeling.” ~Charlotte Bronte

When I was a pre-teen, I had the predictable first crush. When I informed adults around me that I thought I was “in love,” I got the distinct impression that my puppy dog behavior was both inappropriate and bordering on obsessive. Scared that I was “losing control,” I attempted to reel my emotions in. Seven years later, that move turned into a great wall I had built up around my heart. Logic, I had convinced myself, should always rule over emotion in matters of love. It soon got to the point that I believed logic should rule over emotion in as many areas of life as possible, including money and religion.

What does this have to do with writing, you ask? Plenty. Like I said in my last post, your writing will always tell everyone who you really are. So, when writing BLAQUE, logic took the front seat.

This is where the problem came in. I was so focused on my characters being logical that I completely ignored emotion. The result was exactly what I didn’t want; a main character acting illogically not because she was showing too much emotion, but because she wasn’t showing enough. She was acting cool and collected in a situation that any typical human would have been freaking out over (being dropped somewhere foreign with no idea how she got there, and no method of communication).

The rewrite of the opening (which included the much-needed freak out scene) got rave reviews from the screenwriter. My lesson was this: Logic has its place, but without human emotion, the logic is rendered illogical.

PS- Hmmm, it seems that I’ve got a theme going on with this blog lately…

*Thanks to @rebeccawoodhead for inspiring this post by tweeting this insightful quote.

This entry was posted in BLAQUE, Learning From Art, The Writing Craft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

