2012 Writing Goals

Yes, I waited until February 1st to establish some writing goals. I had to sort out what I really wanted/needed first.

That’s actually pretty tough, if you think about it. There’s a lot of stuff that we want, but sometimes we are blind to what we need. I went into 2012 with a much more narrow focus as far as writing goes.

A lot of the things I have that are writing related are useful, but not what I actually need. I had a domain name, a blog (four of them, actually), an ever-growing library of writing books and Korean books, a Twitter page, a Facebook page…you know, stuff. Guess what I didn’t have?

A finished manuscript.

You see, I spent a lot of 2011 acquiring writing-related stuff. It’s not that these things aren’t important, because they are. However, they don’t mean jack if you don’t have a polished manuscript to publish anywhere. Is BLAQUE finished? Eh, more or less…and there’s the problem. I know it isn’t ready, I know it can be a little tighter. I have to rewrite the ending (no biggie, I’ve written it before…it just got lost…when my last computer imploded…).

See what I just did? I made excuses. That’s the problem. As far as writing goes, 2011 was the Year of Excuses. It was because of fear: fear of failure, fear of rejection, fear of success. I thought up every reason I could to delay this, even after I finished the freaking series in last year’s Nanowrimo. Somehow, though, I’m still sitting here, staring at Draft #3 of BLAQUE.

Enough is enough. Here, for your amusement and my focus, are my 2012 Writing Goals:

  1. FINISH the damn book. Seriously, Angel. Finish. The. Damn. Book.
  2. I was going to say ‘Get An Agent,’ but I need to take baby steps here. Since I cannot control an agent’s decisions, I will say that I will submit query letters to at least eight different agents with interest in thrillers.
  3. Attend one writing conference this year. I have my sights on one in particular, but we’ll see.
  4. In lieu of number three, pitch my novel to at least three agents at said conference. If I don’t make it to the conference, those three will be moved to my query list.
  5. Enter a writing contest. I’ve never had the guts to do that.
  6. READ.

What are your writing goals for 2012?

This entry was posted in BLAQUE, Publishing, The Writing Craft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

