Just Write Already!

The last few days were a bit surreal for me. My new job, while emotionally and spiritually rewarding, was physically kicking my butt. That carried over onto my ability to focus on writing. I managed to choke out half a scene the other night.

Mind you, this doesn’t mean that I wasn’t working on the novel. I just wasn’t writing the novel.

What I was doing was brainstorming and writing out the plot, and this ended up being a critical move on my part. I could immediately see where I was running thin in the plot and which characters needed to be more fleshed out. I have a stronger path now (although I still left room for my characters to be themselves and deviate).

All that happened simply because I wrote even though I couldn’t think of a damn thing to write. I just started putting down anything, and what came out was a plot line and character sketches in the form of a Q&A.  I thought of questions readers might ask and answered them.

The bottom line is that you should never go a day without being connected to your piece. The best way to connect is to write. I have done many activities like the Q&A with my stories; I have written “interviews” with characters, along with mini-adventures and scenes that will never be revealed to any eyes but my own. I never have any intention of including any of it in a novel. All of this keeps me connected to the story and its people.

Even if you have one of those days where nothing seems to be flowing, just start writing random stuff. You may be surprised at what appears.

This entry was posted in The Writing Craft and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

